Thread: My edited videos: Impressions of a tv show

Default My edited videos: Impressions of a tv show

I'm new and this is my first post here but I am a super keen editor and hope to pursue this professionally after university. Anyway I had a look around this folder and noticed that people posted videos where it is all their own footage so I don't know if what I am doing is completely wrong to be posting here.

Anyway, the point is that I don't have my own footage so I edit from dvd's I have. As I am a huge fan of The X Files I edit alot of x-files based videos. Now I understand this is different from filming your own footage but there are alot of great editors out there who work with tv shows and we try to challenge ourselves artistically. I use alot of different scores, edit with Ulead, and try to attain something from the show through editing.

I hope that all makes sense and you'll be able to approach these videos from and editing point of view more than anything else. It's pretty hard work going through 200 hours of footage to get to that one clip you wanted. I hope alot of the desired effects came across relatively clearly and I would love to know what you all thought.

This one I did about a year and a half ago, I crossed over footage from the x files with Romeo + Juliet. It involved a great deal of cutting both video and sound. I realise parts of the video are distorted but it was made at I time when I was still getting used to the editing software.

YouTube - X-Files - Mulder + Scully / Romeo + Juliet

This is a short video using a Hans Zimmer score to basically reflect on the relationship. I made use of voice over and slow motion effect to give the video and overwhelming sense of nostalgia on the characters epic journey.

YouTube - The X Files - Mulder and Scully - Reflections