Thread: DVD import and edit

Default DVD import and edit

I'm new to this and I have looked around for answers but now need to ask here. I hope someone can help. I have a number of home movies I want to edit and archive. Some are from camcorder but I thought I'd start at the beginning and convert all the old stuff first. I got 8mm and VHS tapes and got them profesionally converted to DVD but asked them to leave the editing and chaptering to me. I then bought Premiere elements 3.0. and imported the .vob files and began chopping the 3 hour block up into manageable clips. Then I decided to make a test DVD. Firstly, I wanted a blank black title page with white titles and simple scene selection. I could not alter the nasty yellowish 'highlight' effect when selecting a scene. Also the the title looked blurred and soft with some bleeding of the highlighted title onto the adjacent title. This was true on the PC and the LCD TV at home.

What's more, on moving scenes, horizontal lines appeared (on PC and LCD TV) and are not present in the original DVD (PC & TV). I now know that this has something to so with interlacing. I de-interlaced each clip and lines disappeared but given that these movies are more than 30 years old, the deterioration in picture quality is quite noticeable. What I don't understand is why I have to de-interlace a clip whose original DVD is fine.

Someone said that premiere elements isn't good for DVD editing and that a straight forward DVD editor such as Nero or Sonic MyDVD would be better.

I'm not after reams of special effects. I want clear crisp title pages and scene selections without gimmicks - black on white or visa versa. I might want to crop some clips here and there and chop them up. Finally I don't want to lose quality on rendering or have annoying lines across the picture.

What do you recommend? have I got the setting son Premire elements wrong? Please help.

Many Thanks,

Last edited by Kweku13; 12-06-2007 at 06:41 PM.

N. florida