Thread: pan & zoom - results are choppy

Default pan & zoom - results are choppy

I made a wall type image, 64 pics with a resolution of about 2400x1600, I am fairly new to Vegas but with some tinkering I figured out how to create the effect I was after, which is to have it pan and zoom on the still image. My problem is, no matter what I do the animation in the rendered file is choppy. I have tried adding more space between the key frames, but that just slows down the panning and zooming. Also I've tried selecting fast/slow/smooth for the key frame option. Smooth looked a bit better, but at each key frame there is a noticeable pause during the transition. I'm not trying to pan from the bottom of the image to the top in 2 seconds (would never be smooth) I just want to get the image to pan around and zoom without it looking choppy. I have exported in different formats with different compression settings and the same difference.

2nd part of the question, right now I'm working with the single image, on a single time line, is this not the best method to use? If breaking it up will make it go smoother I'm all for it.

sorry if I'm not making sense, here is a sample video (not mine) that has the basic effect I'm after, and it moves so much smoother than mine.

Quote Originally Posted by quebert View Post
    . . sorry if I'm not making sense, . .
    You are making COMPLETE sense. . . and by the sound of it you have done a LOT of work too! This isn't that hard - well it shouldn't be.

OK, some requests & questions:

Q1 - Please supply your version of your picture wall. Let's see what YOU have achieved - yeah?

Q2 - Please supply a screen grab of your Pan/Crop Timeline?

Q3 - Are you actually using Alan's Picture Wall creation tool? If not then you should - it works like a dream!

Q4 - How have you assembled and your final Picture Wall? What are the resolutions of each and every picture?