Thread: Help! Recording Digital Drums

Default Help! Recording Digital Drums

Hi, I'm new to all this and i apologise now if I have put this thread in the wrong place! Not only am I new to video editing but I am also new to the concept of forums. Forgive me.......

Anyway, onto the problem. I play a Yamaha DTExpress IV electronis drum kit and I am wanting to make a play-along video for YouTube. This will involve me palying along to a song which I will also want on the video. I have tried this using my Samsung VP-DF351 camcorder. Here's what I did:

I played the original cd track and recorded it through channel 1 of my Tascam 4-Track recorder. Then I played the kit along to it on channel 2. The audio out jack had a cable sending all of this audio into the Mic jack on my camcorder whilst also obviously videoing the performance. Hope I explained that properly. I then ran it through a Firewire connection to my PC (1.2G RAM and around 5G Hard-disc space) and used Windows MovieMakerto save it and then put onto YouTube. My problem is that everytime I do it I get dropped frames and it speeds up in places. The camera View screen is broken but I don't think that would have any effect as when i view what is on the tape, it is all fine.

I have done this before with an acoustic kit and my videos came out fine and I used the same gear. Little plug-If you wish to view these enter DRUMSMITH81 into YouTube search.

I have just put extra RAM in from what a friend suggested but it was the same after. Please help if you can. I only want to show my videos....... Any help wil be very appreciated. Hopefully, Craig

Blog Entries

A difficult one. Are you saying that you lose sync between the two tracks on the Tascam? or is it a loss of overall sync when you upload it to youtube?
    I have heard of videos losing sync during the youtube conversion but haven't heard of any solution. In my experience Youtube has only lost sync once, on stereo stuff, so maybe you should just make it mono?