Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Premier Pro CS3 capture card

  1. #1

    Smile Premier Pro CS3 capture card

    Hi,

    I want to to know if anyone knows of a good quality analog Capture card that works in conjunction with Premier Pro CS3? i'm looking at up grading to Pro CS3 and need to replace my analog video capture card, (currently a DV500+) It needs to be or realistic price, because i a poor student:(

    Cheers,

    Tommy! x

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Do you own or have you access to a Mini DV camcorder with AV in sockets? I use one of my camcorders as an analogue to digital convertor. Basically, I put my old VHS tapes in the VCR and connect the leads to the AV in socket on the Mini DV and then plug a Firewire cable into the Firewire socket, again on the Mini DV and the other end into the back of the computer. That allows me to convert the analogue signal to digital inside the camcorder and send it out the Firewire cable again and into the computer. That's just my suggestion.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikosony View Post
    Do you own or have you access to a Mini DV camcorder with AV in sockets? I use one of my camcorders as an analogue to digital convertor. Basically, I put my old VHS tapes in the VCR and connect the leads to the AV in socket on the Mini DV and then plug a Firewire cable into the Firewire socket, again on the Mini DV and the other end into the back of the computer. That allows me to convert the analogue signal to digital inside the camcorder and send it out the Firewire cable again and into the computer. That's just my suggestion.
    Thats a good idea, cheers...nice suggestion...i think i would do that if i needed too do it now, but i would like a long term solution, i like to have things set up so i don't have to move wires around and stuff...

    Cheers again!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    What is your budget and what country do you live in?

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikosony View Post
    What is your budget and what country do you live in?
    The UK, i was looking at keeping it pretty reasonable and didn't really wanna go over bout 100-120 ish, give or take depending on the product and it's quality...

    I have been using a DV500+ so something like that i guess...maybe something better if you have any suggestions?

    Cheers.

  6. #6

    Default

    any ideas anyone? please?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Having a budget of around 100. is going to limit your choice of capture device, you could try some of the external devices from Dazzle, they have two out at the moment. They both use a USB connection and have composite and s-video connections in a break out box. Look on Jessops website and also on the Argos website to see what's available. I can't say whether they are good or not as I haven't used them myself, maybe if you look for a review before you purchase it might be better.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikosony View Post
    Having a budget of around 100. is going to limit your choice of capture device, you could try some of the external devices from Dazzle, they have two out at the moment. They both use a USB connection and have composite and s-video connections in a break out box. Look on Jessops website and also on the Argos website to see what's available. I can't say whether they are good or not as I haven't used them myself, maybe if you look for a review before you purchase it might be better.
    Cheers,

    Ok, what about if i didn't have a budget that was so tight, what sort of cards would you recommend? in a sort of low end, mid range and hi end products available?

    Cheers.

Similar Threads

  1. Budget capture card just for PES capture
    By Kola in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-09-2007, 12:40 PM
  2. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 08:37 PM
  3. video capture card or AGP vid card
    By Dazedandconfused in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 12:27 PM
  4. Premier 6.5 and proper firewire capture card?
    By DJP in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2004, 09:40 AM
  5. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 12:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •