Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Running Sony Vegas 8

Default Running Sony Vegas 8

Hello there

I have recently posted on the hardware forum of this website and have not had much joy there so I thought that I would give it a go in here as you might be the best people to ask.

I am just about to purchase a new system to run Sony Vegas Pro 8 which a business recently bought. I have recently joined the business and I have been using Vegas myself for a few years and am getting better/more exoerienced with its features and am building up on a nice library of effects that I use. I have had thye chance to play around with Vegas 8 a couple of times but untilo we aqquire new hardware I wont be able to have a propper play as the business's hardware does need reviewing. It has been left to me to look into computer hadrware as I will be the editor that has to use it. Previously I had very limited hardware knowledge and over the past couple of months I have tried to read as much as I can to get myself up to speed with what the latest and greatest is for running video editing software on a PC. After many hours of reading, reviewing and discussing various components with people I have now put a preliminary system together. My main aim is to run Vegas 8 on it however I would like to have the opportunity to do some gaming on it when I have the time. I would be grateful if anyone could spare the time to give any advice on this and any pointers:
    Processor – Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600, Quad Core Processor (2.4GHz, 8MB Cache, 1066MHz)
    Quad Core seems highly recommended but any more than Q6600 (i.e. Quad Q6700, QX6850) seem expensive.
    Motherboard – ASUS P5K SE: DDR2, SATA II, PCI, 3x PCI-e x1
    The component that I least understand so would not mind any feedback on this?
    O/S – Windows Vista 32bit version – Home Premium Edition