Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: JVC GR-D70U Firewire transfer to PC problems

Default JVC GR-D70U Firewire transfer to PC problems

Hello All. I'm new to all this, and I'd appreciate some help.
    I have a JVC GR-D70 and I'm trying to transfer video from the camera to my PC.
    Firewire from camera to PC is connected, power on, camera on play. PC does not detect camera at all with fire wire-does detect it with USB though.
    I've tried ulead studio 8, windows movie maker, etc-but the camera is never detected. I also installed the software from the FAQ section of this board, and that didn't work either.
    There are no hardware conflicts in the device manager (Windows XP Pro) and the IEEE 1384 driver seems to be installed and working properly.
    Contacted JVC and they say I need some software called Pinnacle studio 9 for the camera to transfer to the PC. Doesn't sound right to me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    TIA.
    FZ

Blog Entries

Sounds like they have a deal with Pinnacle there

To transfer the video, you do indeed need some form of capture software. However, windows should recognise your camera automatically on connection. Plug in cemera by firewire to your PC, switch the camera to play, and windows should recognise newly connected hardware.

I am having a similar problem, I dont have a firewire port on my pc and I only have the USB connection. I am using a JVC GR-DX25 its does capture with the software provided however I am wanting to use Premier which I bought specifically for this. Premier will not find the device what would be the best option?

I am not sure if I need a capture card or not? What would be the best next steps for me?

Cheers

Aaron

Blog Entries

Plain and simple: get a firewire card and use firewire transfer!

Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    Plain and simple: get a firewire card and use firewire transfer!
    Cheers buddy thats what im doing, I had a read of a few more posts and found out what was needed.