Thread: Would like to start recording a music lesson video

Smile Would like to start recording a music lesson video

I am a total video newbie here.

Hopefully I am in the right "forum"...If not please re-direct me to the right one.

I would like to build a guitar lesson video website.

What type of video equipment do I need?
    I have a camcorder and a small studio (very small). And Musicians with tons of musical and offline lesson giving experience.

If someone could give me more information I would be very grateful.

Paul Guzman

How much experience do you have making videos? If your videos are only for the web, then you don't need that much equipment and it doesn't have to be the latest. A standard Mini DV camcorder, with an external mic socket (better quality than the built in mic), it would also allow you to mic up the guitar and the person playing it, if they intend doing a commentary with lapel mics are run both into a plug with two 3.5mm inputs. It would have just one output and this would go into the ext. mic socket. A tripod and two lights (a key light and fill light), one placed on either side of the person playing the guitar would also be useful.

How much of a budget do you have or can you borrow equipment for the shoots? As far as computer hardware/software is concerned, any reasonably up to date PC or MAC would do as long as it has a Firewire socket on it to allow you to connect the camcorder. If you are using an IBM PC clone with Windows operating system, then you will have some version of Windows Movie Maker on it, and this will do all you need for your capturing, editing and making videos for the web, it's also free. You would need to check with the website you are planning on uploading the videos to as to what size the videos can be in terms of Megabytes, their physical dimensions (width by height) and what file formats you can use.

Default Thanks for the Response