Thread: Overlay following a certain point in a clip

Question Overlay following a certain point in a clip

I'm pretty new to Vegas(and this forum, hello :P) only been fooling around with it on my own so excuse my newbieness.

I'm currently working on a video in Vegas 8.0 where i have a camera moving in a straight line from left to right past a house wall, i want to have a text following this house wall, like in 01:40 of this clip: .
    The text is all done, all that i need help with is making the text following the wall smoothly.
    Sofar i've used pan/crop tool and it's doable but really hard to make it look nice.
    Any small tips and pointers will be greatly appreciated!

Here's stillimage with and without text so you get the idea(from a video game).

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by YatZee; 11-07-2007 at 01:46 AM.

In this instance Pan/Crop is NOT the solution. 3-D Track Motion might get you what you want. I put in the proviso because I am not sure just how much perspective tracking you want? However, let's get some definitions we can "share". Yeah?

* Pan/Crop: This function allows us to Pan across the face of a Frame. If you Pan too far on media, that which you want to remain within the Frame becomes too far out of frame that it will start to disappear. That is what Pan does. "Crop" allows us to crop or remove that which we do not want within a frame. In both cases, it is this "within a frame" we need to take on board and understand. The Frame here is the end of the virtual camera. What you shot is all what you get. If we Pan we do not get any extra - that's all that was "shot" from the real camera. Likewise with Crop - that was all that was shot with the Real camera. Go outside the frame, and you get nothing more. This is something that many people hereabouts don't appear to appreciate fully. And explaining this is a continuous task and re-surfaces every so often.