Thread: Video Editing/Authoring to Blue Ray Disc

Smile Video Editing/Authoring to Blue Ray Disc

I'm fairly new to video editing and just bough a high def inexpensive camera (Canon HV20) . I own a Panasonic 50 inch 720p Plasma and a Sony BDP-S300 Blue Ray Disc player.

I have taken about 120 minutes of HD video in New York City and want to edit the video on my PC with music added on. I was wondering if someone can help me figure out what software to purchase. My goal would be to edit the video and transfer it to a DVD where I could play it on the BD player. I'm very new to this. THANKS!!

Are you planning on using a laptop or desktop computer to do your editing on? I haven't done any HD editing yet myself, but reading posts from other forum users, the files are much larger than even uncompressed avi. So you'll need a fast computer with lots of storage space. You may need to look at that end of your setup first before thinking about software.

Thanks for the reply. I use a PC with a 256mb video card, 1gb of memory, and a Pentium D 2.8GHz processor. I have about 40GB of free space on the hard drive.

Let me know what you think. Thanks

My First impression is.. you defiantly do not have enough storage space to suffice a High Definition capture, let-alone even an Edit!

Unfortunately, you may need to invest in a bigger, external hard disk
    Chris Hammond
    Senior Programme Editor
    The Sikh Channel

E: chris.hammond@sikhchannel.tv
    T: 0121 380 1050
    M: 07594786497
    W: www.sikhchannel.tv

Sky Channel 840
    Support : Participate : Contribute
    World's First TV Channel dedicated to the Sikh Faith

5. Default

I'm new here and tearing my hair out for a solution linked to the OPs question:

I have a Sony HDV Handycam HDR-HC7E, PAL spec, 1080i @ 50 hz, compatible plasma and a BD player in a Playstation3 (UK spec).