Thread: Trying to merge two similar clips together

Default Trying to merge two similar clips together

First of all, hello to everyone. I think finding a professional video forum was my best bet for getting some answers to my question(s).

Okey-dokey, if I could just please direct your attention to this video for one moment:

I'm basically trying to create this same montage effect. It's a simple way of creating a nice little "multiple character" effect by, I guess, filming two shots with the same background then merging them together.

I'm very experienced with Adobe Premiere Pro 2.0 and although I own After Effects 7.0, I'm a complete and utter amateur with it.

A helping hand/tongue/finger would be much obliged

That clip was not done very well, at least not as far as the cloning techniques anyways. You can often see the join quite clearly.

The normal way of doing this is to film your talent on a blue or green screen, then just dump as many layers as your wqant over your background in your compositing tool of choice. However, in that movie they didn't use a bluescreen (at least not always) and it shows. They filmed the same actor on different occasions and spliced them together. Trouble with this is that even making the next take five minuteslater the lighting will likely have changed and you'll see the join.

And for any compositing work shoot it using a tripod and use the manual controls on your camcorder as the auto controls will give different results. Lock items such as white balance, focus and exposure if it is possible on the camcorder you will be using. That way you won't see a noticable change between one scene and another.

Thank you for the replies. I'm planning on doing this against a white background in a controlled lighting environment and I would just like to basically know how to create this effect, whether or not it looks professional.