Thread: Starting Live Gig Videography Business (London)

Default Starting Live Gig Videography Business (London)

I'm a film graduate who is making tentative steps towards forming a business filming and editing live music gigs in the London area.

I have a little experience, but am looking for a 'partner in crime' , preferably with their own HDV camera to join me in this venture. Obviously, initial work will involve a low-level of pay but experience and a showreel will grow.

If there is anyone who has a passion, like me for filming and editing gigs please message me so we can have a chat.

Additionally, if anyone has any pointers or advice on pitfalls to avoid etc, i would love to hear from you.

Thanks for reading.

Default Yeah i'll help

I'll give you hand filming if you're ever filming in or around Bristol,i should be getting a sony xdcam ex and a load of other kit in the new year.I'm trying to get into event videography also.Otherwise good luck with your business.

Western Europe

Any gig's you plan to do make sure you get everything in writing, if that means having to draw up a contract, so you will get paid either at the end of the night or when a finished dvd is delivered, then do it. Always cover your back! When I first started out in graphic design I got my fingers burnt and tried to get a solictor after a company who didn't like paying their bills, we failed as they went bankrupt; so I got some good advice from that particular solicitor and maybe you might want to do the same thing, even if it is just getting general info on how not to be taken for a mug. Also look into insurance, you don't want someone tripping over an electrical cable or tripod and them injuring themselves... and you being taken to the small claims court... and having your name in all the local newspapers, for all the wrong reasons.