Thread: I need an edcucation about file formats

Question I need an edcucation about file formats

I'm sure others do too, and I can't find info on the Net. Go figger. Usually you can find everything, but not this time.

There's a wealth of different file formats. There's MPGS, including MPG 1 in many flavors (CD, and VHS are two that I know of). There's MPeg 2 and MPeg 4, and those come in flavors too. Then there's AVIs, which seem to be a generic term. Then there's VCD, DIV, HD something or other, and lotsa different types. Okay, fine! What are these? When do you use one over another? Whats the difference between these, especially the MPGs?

Get the picture (pun intended)? Where's a treatis on all this stuff? I'm lost! I have no clue of when to use what format, and why. Please help me and others who are total noobs.

Thanks!

This should help you grasshopper....... Video File Formats if you have any other questions feel free to ask.
    Wil

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

Well, thanks, but that isn't what I need. This is only a list of formats, and whether they're commonly used or not. What I need to know is why would I use mp4 instead of mp2 or even just plain mpg? What is VCD and SVCD, and when do I choose one over the other?

One specific problem I have is that Fraps will record half screen size. That results in 512x384 on my puter. Unfortunately, Pinnacle's TRex won't convert to that size. Furthermore, for some reason, inserting an original clip from Fraps into a split results in one missing frame (blackness) at the end of the insertion. So, how do I convert Fraps 512x384