Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: broadcasting

  1. #1

    Default broadcasting

    hey everyone!

    I know someone already posted about this, but I have another question about it.

    Im using Windows Media Encoder 9. I want my friends back in England to be able to watch some clips that i have put together (along with some home movies.)

    When I "Pull from the Encoder.." everything works flawlessly.. but only on my home network. Computers outside of the network dont recieve anything whatsoever (signal, etc..).

    So I decded to try "Push to a Windows Media Server..." and boy do I have no idea what information to put in...!

    This is the informaton I am asked for:
    Server Name:
    Publishing Point:
    Copy settings from:

    Hopefully somebody has a vaigue idea about what I am talking about! :
    Somebody please help me with this! I have people in the UK awaiting a broadcast feed from my computer

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Don't worry about either of those options. Untick both and select save to file. Upload this to the server and provide the link to your friends. You can stream the video in windows media player.

  3. #3

    Default

    There isn't an option saying 'save to file' on "Broadcast Live Event," nor on any of the other broadcast options.

    I'm going to go look at my firewall settings. Maybe that would help with live streaming.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Why are you trying to broadcast a live event? Is it actually a live event, or are you just encoding?

    Click cancel on the wizard at start up. Go to properties, in the souce, select file and browse to your video. Click Output and select encode to file.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    If u wanna do a live broadcast ur gonna have to change settings in ur router...Either forward the wmp port to ur local machine or use DMZ options to set everything to ur local ip
    2.6b at 3.3
    1 gig of OCZ Platinum Limited Edition PC3200(2-2-2)
    Abit IC7
    Seagate 80gb sata
    Aspire X-Alien
    460W Enermax
    9800 Pro
    SP-94 with Tornado

    Panasonic GS200 on its way with:
    3 DV Tapes, Tripod, Bag, Telephoto Lens, Lens Cleaning Kit

  6. #6

    Default

    sorry.. Im new to alot of this stuff. Could you tell me what you mean?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Can you confirm that you AREN'T attempting to broadcast a live event (i.e you have a video file on your PC that you want to other people to see). If this is a case, just encode the video to a file and send it to your friends via email or over messenger!

Similar Threads

  1. Edit/Switch while broadcasting
    By Cedricdb in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-08-2006, 01:29 PM
  2. News Broadcasting sound effects
    By joeycory in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-14-2005, 09:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •