Thread: Please Help a Novice

Default Please Help a Novice

Can anyone help me edit a video?? I'm a novice with this sort of thing.

I've got a loan of my friends sony camcorder and was going to make up some video's (and eventually dvd's) of his footage. I've installed the correct camcorder software and tried capturing a 2 minute clip on my PC to see how it worked out. But the file has come out at 600 MB, which is useless. I can't find anything in the instructions on how to deal with this.

Does anyone know how i can either re-size a video, or set up the camcorder to capture the footage in a workable size??

The camcorder is a sony handycam DCR-HC35E.

Cheers

Colin

Are you sure the file is 600MB in size? It is slightly more than the standard 3.6MB/sec required for DV footage. At that rate it only comes to 432MB, yes I know it's still big but video does take up a lot of hard disk space. You say the 600MB is useless, why is that? If it's only going on DVD's and not the net, then a DVD can take up to 4.7GB, although I would stop well below that, so you have lots of space.

Thanks for your reply. The file properties tell me it 609 MB.
    I was hoping to send any short video by email once edited. And each tape in the camcorder is 1 hour long, if 2 minutes = 600 MB, i've little chance of even putting the raw footage onto dvd the way things are right now!