Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Capturing 360/PS3 footage

  1. #1

    Question Capturing 360/PS3 footage

    Does anyone here have any experience with this?

    Ideally I'm looking to capture 1280x720 video and screenshots.

    How good does my system need to be to capture and edit HD footage, do I need Quad-Core, 4GB of RAM and a 1TB RAID or can I get by with less?


    Also what capture card would you recommend, I've only really found 2 candidates for this so far:

    BlackMagic:
    Blackmagic Design Intensity Pro Card
    My new HD capture card - Xbox Live's Major Nelson

    Epiphan:
    Epiphan Systems | Products | Frame grabbers | VGA2USB
    Epiphan VGA2USB Review


    The Blackmagic has the bonus of being able to capture footage at full 1080p, but it is highly dependant on the system.

    The Epiphan is external and USB based, which is a bonus. It can capture video easily at 640x480 but has a tough time at higher resolutions and has issues with motion for framecaps.
    Last edited by Mark W; 12-10-2008 at 02:24 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Smooth View Post
    Does anyone here have any experience with this?

    Ideally I'm looking to capture 1280x720 video and screenshots.

    How good does my system need to be to capture and edit HD footage, do I need Quad-Core, 4GB of RAM and a 1TB RAID or can I get by with less?


    Also what capture card would you recommend, I've only really found 2 candidates for this so far:




    The Blackmagic has the bonus of being able to capture footage at full 1080p, but it is highly dependant on the system.

    The Epiphan is external and USB based, which is a bonus. It can capture video easily at 640x480 but has a tough time at higher resolutions and has issues with motion for framecaps.


    Please tell me if you are able to play your console at good frame rates in your computer

    I have a Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked at 3.8 Ghz
    2 x Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 (SLI) overclocked at 700 Mhz
    6 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz RAM
    2 TB Hard Drive

    I know that the blackmagick performance depends on the computer, so I wonder if it works well with the system I get, hopefully full 1080p with at least 30 FPS
    Last edited by Mark W; 12-10-2008 at 02:25 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Or alternatively you could leave the house and meet girls, or boys.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Or alternatively you could leave the house and meet girls, or boys.
    Well, the Black Magic Intensity Pro has HD video input and output

    So I can play without lag in my monitor

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Are you implying it also helps you meet girls ?

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Are you implying it also helps you meet girls ?
    dude you are not helping at all hahaha

    but you're funny, your response has NOTHING to do with Intensity Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yea - sorry - I slapped myslef - hard.

    And i have little knowledge of capturing game vidoe I will shut up. Why not make a real film? I dont get why teenage boys want to play games all the time and then edit themselves paying a game??? I mean does that impress any girls ever ? lols.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Yea - sorry - I slapped myslef - hard.

    And i have little knowledge of capturing game vidoe I will shut up. Why not make a real film? I dont get why teenage boys want to play games all the time and then edit themselves paying a game??? I mean does that impress any girls ever ? lols.
    I want to send the PS3 video to my PC in order to use Windows Media Center, and then use AMBX in order to have light effects

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Well, I am clearly out of my depth in this thread. I dont even know what that means above. I suspect a gaming board may be more helpfull.

Similar Threads

  1. Capturing xbox 360 footage
    By arcadias in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-17-2007, 11:22 PM
  2. Capturing UK television footage?
    By RiW in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 04:02 PM
  3. Capturing footage from VHS problems
    By editor102 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2005, 09:14 AM
  4. capturing footage!
    By schilzer in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2004, 03:05 PM
  5. The speed of capturing footage
    By TonyWright in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2004, 08:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •