Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Best editing software to output H264?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Best editing software to output H264?

    Hi,
    I'm digitising all my VHS tapes and want to perform some basic editing on them before conversion to H264 (.mp4) so that I can play the files on my Xbox 360. Can anyone advise on some editing software that can output H264 .mp4 files? I've tried Pinnacle v11 (outputs to mpeg4 fine but no H264 compression) and Nero (outputs in problematic Nero digital format, again no H264).

    I'd like some software that can capture, edit and ouput to H264 .mp4. Any ideas or am I being to fussy about H264 and should just go with the non H264 Pinnacle output which plays OK?

    many thanks
    Ade

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adeg View Post
    Hi,
    I'm digitising all my VHS tapes and want to perform some basic editing on them before conversion to H264 (.mp4) so that I can play the files on my Xbox 360. Can anyone advise on some editing software that can output H264 .mp4 files? I've tried Pinnacle v11 (outputs to mpeg4 fine but no H264 compression) and Nero (outputs in problematic Nero digital format, again no H264).

    I'd like some software that can capture, edit and ouput to H264 .mp4. Any ideas or am I being to fussy about H264 and should just go with the non H264 Pinnacle output which plays OK?

    many thanks
    Ade

    Have you tried to do a search on these forums? This type of question comes up a lot. You can also look here Comparison of video editing software - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  3. #3

    Default

    h264 and mp4 are pretty much interchangable terms.
    Look in your quicktime video setting. You should see h264 output in there.
    Chec to be sure you
    ahve the latest version of quicktime on your system for the latest codecs to be installed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thank you , the Wikipedia page was helpful but I still cannot find a product that will capture, edit and convert to H.264. The Pinnacle Studio product uses an mp4 container but it does not use the H264 codec (I had checked in QT). I am surprised that this is so difficult. I am now using a combination of Studio 11 and Videora XBox converter but this means capturing, editing, outputting to MPEG-2 and then converting the MPEG-2 file in Videora.
    regards
    Adrian

Similar Threads

  1. Encodeing with the H264 Compressor
    By chris10362 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2007, 10:08 AM
  2. Most Professional Video Software output
    By sjharrison in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2007, 01:18 PM
  3. Vegas output problem - cursors position stays in the output file.
    By viljo in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 04:17 PM
  4. does anyone know how to get Premier Pro to output direct on to my TV while editing
    By john12 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2006, 03:30 AM
  5. DVD Editing software
    By slobby_joe in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2006, 12:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •