Thread: Please help! advice needed on systems

1. Default Please help! advice needed on systems

Hi Guys

Im getting increasingly confused while looking around for a PC syste I can edit with. A little advice from you people in the know would be so helpful to me!

My budget is about 800. I want the pc for general usage (Internet and disc burning mainly) but also to edit film of no more than 10-20 mins long, which I will hopefully screen at short film festivals. I have a DV camcorder with DV out. I will be editing on Premiere.

Please dont get too technical on me...Im new to all this! I keep getting conflicting opinions, and I really hope I can clear it up here.

A few questions:

1) Bearing in mind my budget...should I buy or build(with help from a friend)?

2) I keep seeing very tempting offers from Tiny.com, like this one:

http://www.tiny.com/packages.php?prodid=10238

...are these any good? I was told today that they are unreliable, and that I should just get a Dell. Would you agree?

3) If someone could give me a simple list of "must have's" for a system, that would be great. What specs should I look for? ANy particular brands?

4) If I buy off the shelf....any recommendations?

5) Pentium or Athlon? Why? (please keep it very simple!)

Hope this isnt too much! Thanks a lot. You people are great

As far as I can see the Tiny PC you linked tohas everything you need.

I've had a PC from Tiny before now and never had a moments trouble with it. Still that was a widnows95, P133 with a whopping 32Mb of RAM which was cutting edge back then.

you have a camer with DV-OUT so all you need (hardware wise) for capture is a firewire port which it has.

The processor is more than capable and there is plenty of disc space.