Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: vista or xp

  1. Default vista or xp

    hello all

    what do people think is best to use Vista or XP for video editing, any problems running editing software on either please post

    cheers

  2. #2

    Default

    personally I'm waiting on vista, too many problems reported with vista. Only time will tell
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Same here - it takes microsoft and driver writers at least a year or two to finish thier operating sys after they shamelessly sell us beta s ware.

    I will be sticking with xp for as long as m soft and software originators support it - I am so anti flim flam that I run my xp in boring win 2000 mode, I cant stand all that vista graphical padding - if you want a computer that looks like a sci fi prop get a mac !!!!! Oh - I think i am ranting...

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Oh - I think i am ranting...

    Whats new Mark.....LOL
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  5. Default

    cheers guys when i get my new laptop ill make sure it has windows xp

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NW England
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I have a laptop running Vista - I've had no problems with it so far. I only have MovieMaker by way of editing software, but Vista seems fine here. You can still have the Win2000 look if you want it!

    If the computer you buy comes with Vista, don't worry!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Have you had to download lots of updates and hotfixes for it yet?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NW England
    Posts
    6

    Default

    When I bought the computer (about 6 weeks ago) the first time I connected to the internet, I did a windows update, as I did with XP. It downloaded some crap, installed it and that was pretty much that. It's set to download updates and install the automatically, but I'm only aware of it doing so once - and it was unobtrusive as it didn't install them untill I was shutting down the PC.

  9. #9

    Default

    XP and Vista are both great for PC video editing. I have a desktop with XP Home Edition and I have a laptop with Vista Home Premium. The laptop is new and came with Vista pre-installed, so that might explain how well it runs (I only got it at the beginning of last month!), and I can't wait for the first service pack to come out. I also run Studio Plus 10.8 on it and Premiere Elements 3.0.2, and they run fine. So does NeroVision 4 and Ulead VideoStudio 11 and DVD MovieFactory 6 (both are Plus versions).

Similar Threads

  1. anyone using Vegas 7 + DVD with Vista?
    By bustagut in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 08:59 PM
  2. is it vista compatable
    By bluebrazil in forum Pimp the Link
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-24-2007, 09:14 PM
  3. Vegas 7 on Vista
    By ChrisG in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-11-2007, 10:18 PM
  4. codecs for vista
    By bon in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2007, 08:44 PM
  5. Vista anyone got it yet
    By FNG in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2007, 07:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •