Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Pinnacle Studio crashing when importing avi video

  1. #1

    Default Pinnacle Studio crashing when importing avi video

    HEEEEEELP MEEEEEEEE! please!!! every single time i try and import an avi file into pinnacle that wasn't rendered by pinnacle, it just closes down (e.g. an avi file rendered in 3ds max or adobe etc).

    i believe this to be a codec problem but ive tried uninstalling/installing loads of codecs and its had no effect.

    i can actually play the video i want to import fine in like windows media player or can import it in adobe or anywhere else. its just pinnacle. please help me!! any feedback would be treasured.

    oh, and ive tried uninstalling and reinstalling pinnacle too, and ive got pinnacle studio 10 and 11, and they both have the same problem.

    thanks, paul

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    335

    Default

    One thing that would first spring to my mind is that when I installed Pinnacle, it kept nagging about how it could not co-exist with other versions of Pinnacle currently installed on the machine. So if you have 10 and 11 both installed, I would try uninstalling 10, and see how it works then.
    Personally, I don't really see the different that this will make. I have version 8 installed, with version 11 installed too, and no difference seems to be obvious. But then there's always the chance that when importing avi files, that it's looking at the wrong file, for the other version program, and gets a bit confused. There's no harm in trying.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Near Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    35

    Default

    If you render if Full Frames, Uncompressed in the other programs - you should have no problems. Also, there is an mjpeg codec that I sometimes choose, as Studio recognizes it. There are some codec's that Studio does not recognize. It's always better to choose Full Frames anyway.

    I agree that you should uninstall Studio 10. If you use Smartsound, and you don't have it working in 11, you would need files on the Studio 10 disks to get it going but I presume, you have probably already got it working.

Similar Threads

  1. Pinnacle Studio 9.3.0 Video Plugins?
    By billabong__686 in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-03-2005, 12:55 AM
  2. Pinnacle Studio 9 : Shaking Video
    By Anton00 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2005, 09:24 PM
  3. Problem importing video in Studio 8
    By Jeremy in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 05:05 PM
  4. cool 3D prodution studio /Pinnacle studio 9 SE
    By regg0 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-06-2004, 08:40 PM
  5. media Studio Pro 7 Crashing
    By Raptor Mat in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 09:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •