Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do you do split screens?

  1. #1

    Default How do you do split screens?

    Hi, newbie here.

    How do you do split screens in Premiere Pro? I'm talking about Brian DePalma split screens where I can control the location of the screens, transition to the desired location (i.e., whole screen to gradual decrease in size of the screen), duration, and even place a color separator bar between/among the screens. Or is this something I do in After Effects?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    The basic spilt screen is where you have 2 video tracks in the timeline and you use the CROP tool to split the top video track so you can see half of the video track underneath. Other effects include picture in picture where you reduce the SCALE of the top video track from 100% down to 50% or 33%, then using the Motion control you can adjust the x and y co-ordinates to move the clip to another part of the screen, or you can physically grab the top video clip in the preview window and just drag it to another location.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thank you, Nikosony. I'm trying to learn this stuff by working on a project while referencing the thick manual. It's so far not intuitive to me, but I imagine this comes with the learning curve.

  4. #4

    Default

    Put your various clips on the timeline on different tracks.

    You can then crop and resize them and position them wherever you want.

    You can also keframe all those parameters so you can animate different clips moving, resizing and cropping.

    Add techno soundtrack and get a CSI Miami treatment to order!

  5. #5

    Default

    does this method to split screens work in studio 10??

    cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    If it has multiple video tracks and has some way of Cropping video.

  7. #7

    Default

    How about the yellow line/bar that separates the split screens? I want it to appear from top center to bottom center as the screen becomes split. Can that be done in Premiere Pro or do I have to use the paint feature in After Effects?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    I haven't tried to do it in AE, but I'm sure you could create all the graphic elements you need in Photoshop and bring them into Premiere Pro and then just position them. If you want to animate them then use Keyframes.

Similar Threads

  1. video syncronised across 3 screens
    By BenjaminW in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 10:17 AM
  2. Split Screens
    By Fulltime in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2005, 04:14 PM
  3. Blue screens
    By Jackshere in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 08:07 PM
  4. Creating Split Screens
    By dream_abstract in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-18-2004, 05:27 PM
  5. Green screens Blue screens
    By ill-matic in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-29-2004, 08:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •