Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Render GB Limit?

  1. #1

    Default Render GB Limit?

    Hi

    Is there a 4GB limit when rendering to AVI?

    My move is 30 mins long and I have attamepted to render it to AVI.
    I can see by the preview window that it gose through the whole movie, but when
    i go to play it, its only 18min! Its stops there.
    I think the problem is the size of the AVI file.
    The rendered movie is 3.99GB in lenght. I want the whole move in AVI and not Meg.

    Can i change something in the options to help me??

    Thanks
    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Vegas does not limit render size and I dont know if it could be a windows thing maybe....

    Isnt there something about file size and fat32 partitioning ? ?? ?

    CAn anyone more knowledgeable help ?

  3. #3

    Default

    Yes your limited to 5gb with fat32 so you might have a gig of something else on there as well. NTFS is your best choice for editing.

    The only way to change it would be to reformat, They is a program called partition magic that changes partition size but I don't know about changing format.
    Last edited by Chapman Photography; 09-19-2007 at 07:37 PM.
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chapman Photography View Post
    Yes your limited to 5gb with fat32
    Ah-hem, that would be the 4GB limit of FAT32 (and no need for an extra file or anything to make up the extra GB)

    Mark you need to convert the file system of the volume on which your output file is being placed to NTFS. There's a program built into Windows XP (and possibly others) In XP go to help and type "convert to NTFS". That should give you the detail you need.

    Good luck (and if it goes wrong, Sorry)
    Tim

  5. Default

    Mark,

    To format a drive follow these steps ...

    Start -> All Programmes -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Storage -> Disk Management (Local)

    Then right click which ever drive you wish to format and then select 'Format...' from the format box you will be able to select NTFS.

    Administrative Tools is not always set to show. If you can't find Administrative Tools then do this first

    Right Click on an empty part of your taskbar -> Select Properties -> Select Start Menu -> Click Customize -> Click Advanced -> Within Start Menu Items scroll down to 'System Administrative Tools' and select one of the Display option -> Click OK -> Click OK or Apply

    After this you should be able to see it and do the steps at the top of the post

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Actually sticky, you've suggested the complex way. Far quicker:
    My Computer
    Right click on the drive you want to format
    Select NTFS and OK

    However formatting assumes you want to lose any data on the drive. Also you cannot format your system drive.

    Convert.exe can be run on ANY drive and data remains intact.
    Tim

  7. #7

    Default

    To all replies!

    Thanks a lot.
    The problem was i was rendering to my external hard drive - Frecom 500 GB, it is a FAT 32!.
    Now saved to my home drive - NTFS. Problem solved.

    Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. File size limit
    By Tigz in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 10:15 PM
  2. 10 second limit in After Effects
    By overlorddale in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2005, 09:23 AM
  3. Capture Card resolution limit
    By Bounder in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2005, 04:04 AM
  4. Premiere 6.0 - size limit... 2GB???
    By beegblock in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 06:46 PM
  5. 20 Minute Limit on AVI s? (Premier 6.5)
    By fpullanojr in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2004, 02:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •