Thread: TK on Tiree

Default TK on Tiree

This is my first movie I have made using After Effects and Premiere.

Putfile - TK on Tiree 3

Look forward to your feedback as I hope to get better and use some of your comments on my next project.

Was it that bad?? No comments at all??

Just out of interest, is there a reason no one has commented?

OK... I'm not a pro, (or even an amateur of any note!)

So please take what follows with a large pinch of salt (and some tequila and some lime, possibly)

I guess you are really into kites and stuff, so it's easy for you to like the subject, to linger on techniques that the layman is not going to understand or care about.

About 4 minutes in I gave up, after thinking: Oh look another bloke being pulled along the beach on a skateboard/trike/thingie.

I guess this was because there was a whole sequence of right to left pan shots following the kiters at quite a long distance.

I would guess you really need to mix up your shots, you need to inter-cut some close-ups, and low wide angle shots. For instance a guy on a trike zipping into frame from behind and disappearing up the beach away from camera. Or speeding towards the camera.

A lot of the shots just didn't show any kites.

A kite-flyer's eye view shot or two would be nice too. Looking up at the kite and particularly getting the wind and wheel noise (Though I understand that to get that you would need a helmet cam, and that could be expensive - particularly in a spill!) But putting the viewer in the driving seat would be good

You could do with cut-aways to any spectators and get their reactions too.

I thought you over-used the white-out transition a tad too much.

jump-cutting to the music and some speed ramps would be nice too.

Some kind of narrative would work. Interviews with the guys, telling one guy's story. Getting the reaction of one of them after a particularly hair-raising ride. Getting his friends reactions too.