Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 7200 rpm really needed?

  1. #1

    Default 7200 rpm really needed?

    Do I really need this to have a 7200rpm hard drive?
    The company (PC specialists) have told me that it would be very expensive to put one in a laptop and without significant improvement

    Please comment on this and general spec of laptop (need xp as running prem pro 2)

    Display
    15.4 INCH WIDESCREEN DISPLAY (1280 X 800) + ANTI-GLARE
    Processor (CPU)
    INTEL® Core 2 Duo T7250 (2 X 2.00GHz) 800MHz FSB/2MB L2 Cache
    Memory (RAM)
    2048 MB CORSAIR DDR2 667MHz - LIFETIME WARRANTY! (2x1GB)
    Operating System
    WINDOWS® XP Home (inc. Genuine CD & License) (£59)
    USB Options
    4 x USB 2.0 PORTS
    Bluetooth & Infrared Options
    NONE
    Memory - Hard Disk
    160GB SERIAL ATA II HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB CACHE (5400rpm)
    CD/DVD Drive
    8x DVD±R/RW/Dual Layer (+ 24x CD-RW)
    Graphics Card
    256MB GEFORCE 8600GT + D-SUB + TV-OUT
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC268 2 Channel High Definition Audio + SPIDIF OUT
    Modem
    INTEGRATED 56KBPS V92 MODEM
    Network Facilities
    Onboard LAN & WIRELESS 802.11G NETWORK CARD (£13)
    Firewire & Video Editing1 X 1394a FIREWIRE PORT


    PRICE: £786


    Many Thanks for advice in advance


    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Its a good spec for video work - who's the company ??

    I've used a T7200 laptop with 1Gig of memory and a 5400rpm SATA drive to edit HDV footage in Premiere Pro CS3 and it flies with just a single video track, but is still usable doing 2 camera multicam in HD.

    A 5400 drive is fine for capture and basic editing as long as you keep it defragmented. A 7200rpm drive is going to be less trouble, but the best option for video work would be a second internal drive dedicated to video data only, or an external SATA or Firewire drive (USB 2.00 at a pinch), but you'd need mains power for the external drive.

  3. #3

    Default

    The company are PCSPECIALIST.CO.UK

    Thanks for you help, I think you have made my mind up and I will take the plundge and part with my hard earned cash

  4. #4

    Default

    It will be better if it is a SATA hard drive, SATA is faster than serial.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GentleGiant View Post
    ... but you'd need mains power for the external drive.
    Only if you want more than 160GB external. There's plenty out there that run on bus power now especially for being carried around with laptops.

Similar Threads

  1. Help needed....
    By EZway in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 12:07 PM
  2. Help Needed :)
    By Chucas11 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 10:27 PM
  3. FOR SALE GARMIN StreetPilot 7200, North America GPS Navigator...$400
    By melvins101 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-27-2006, 04:01 AM
  4. HOW DO I? "Dedicated 7200 RPM drive for video" an
    By OnTheWay in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2005, 08:06 PM
  5. External 7200 HD help slow 5200 labtop HD?
    By ryanjones247 in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 11:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •