Thread: When I import AVI I only get the sound track in Las Vegas

1. Default When I import AVI I only get the sound track in Las Vegas

This is my first time trying video editing with this program when I drag a clip that is e.g. wmv there is no problem but if I drag an avi I only get the sound track ?

2. Default

this avi clips came from my cannon SD600 camera ...

I think it is due to the codec.
    Drag it to gspot and check which video codec it uses.

I had a similar problem with my Pentax It's down to Codecs. Bryant is right - use G-Spot to determine the codec then download that codec and reboot your machine.

My solution, although not the best way but it should work.:

Drag clips into Windows movie maker then save that movie as a high res wmv, then bribng em back to Vegas

(I'm sure its a typo on your part but the application is called Sony Vegas not LAS Vegas)
    Last edited by irishmark; 09-04-2007 at 03:38 PM. Reason: cause i can

I'm actually having trouble with this. I downloaded a Naruto episode (it was an .AVI file) for my AMV (Anime Music Video) and i uploaded it onto Vegas 7, no video. I tried to upload it onto WMM and it just closes cause of an "overflow" when the file is 122 MB and i have uploaded files that were 2GB.

Drag your avi files to gspot, how it tells?

OK, an easy way, find a video converter to convert the avi to wmv or other video format and then import it to vegas.

If you still have questions, post it here

7. Default

I have this same problem with my canon a620. The AVI files only read as audio.

I work around this problem by using SUPER video converter. It's free and works well.

The files need to be converted to DV *digital video formant. I use AVI as the container, and WAV as the audio codec.

This works, but is inconvenient as it needs to be done for every clip.