Thread: Pinnacle 9.3SE

1. Default Pinnacle 9.3SE

I am completely new to editing software. I have acquired Pinnacle9.3 which I felt I was mastering quite well, however adding music is proving difficult to grasp. I can add a CD track to the start of a clip and know how to time it to end, although not to fade which is preferred. Moreso I find it difficult to comprehend adding a CD track to another part of the clip other than the start. Could anyone guide me in layman's terms how to achieve this.

I have studio 9 plus so assume it will be same on your version. You should be able to drop a music clip anywhere along the timeline or if you have it on the timeline you can drag it along to where you want it.
    As for fading if you go to the toolbox and go to the audio side of it, then select the levels icon, can;t remeber what the icon is as i'm at work right now. Might be a microphone, anyone when you select it you get what looks like a mixing desk with sliders for the different tracks. underneath each slider is a fade in and fade out icon. so on the time line place the cursor wher you want the fade out to end and then press the fade icon and it will put one in for you.

If yoy want to extend or shorten the fade you'll notice on the timeline there will be a blue dot where the fade starts. if you hover the mouse over that point it should change to a hand icon and then you can drag that point to wherever you want it.

Hope you can understand most of that and that you can work your way through it. if you have the manual its covered in there as well certainly better than I can explain anyway.

Good luck, welcome to the forum and happy editing.

3. Default

Thank you - I will try using the timeline. I had been using the the 'graphic' which has three columns for putting in timings and getting frustrated.

The timeline makes life so much easier than the other views to see what your doing.
    post how you get on or if you need anymore help.

5. Default