Thread: Another newby having trouble

Default Another newby having trouble

I am new to this game. All I want to do is some basic video editing, adding captions, inserting images and adding a soundtrack. Then I want to burn a DVD to play in a standard player.

I have purchased a SONY AD-7173A DVD Writer (SONY AD-7173A DVD Writer Labelflash DVDRW FREE NERO on eBay, CD DVD Drives, Drives Storage, Computing (item 230159622800 end time 12-Aug-07 15:50:06 BST) Which looks to be pretty much all singing and all dancing. I have created a video in Intervideo Win DVD v 1.1. When I go to burn the DVD to a fujifilm DVD-R DVD I choose the VCD format and Pal for the TV system. When I tell it to burn I get the error message "The output format you chose is not compatible with the disc type" I have also tried burning with the SVCD format but same error message. I can quite happily send the video to the Hard drive for later burning but do not know how to burn it from there.

What am I doing wrong?
    Can I do what I want with the software and hardware I have?
    Is there a better (cheap) software I could use?

Also installed on the PC I have Nero7 and Windows Movie maker.

Thanks

The thing that sticks out is "VCD" (video CD) you need to use a DVD setting not VCD, Try that and post back if your still having problems.
    Wil

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

There is no DVD setting in the software I have, I guess it is not up to the job then? Is there an updated version of this, or can I create DVD's from within moviemaker or Nero7? or can you recomend some other software I could use?

Thanks