Thread: please advice what software to buy for my needs

1. Default please advice what software to buy for my needs

I am quite new at video editing and I kindly request for advice. I am hoping to keep the cost of software at $200 if possible but will be willing to invest consider more if my needs require.

I shot with a DV camera, usually in very poor lighting conditions. ( I shot students social dancing in dancing clubs, so they can later see themselves and find areas that need improvement. )

So generally I will need to manipulate the video to increase the brightness so people can see themselves better. ( or maybe there is another way) but basically make the best of the video viewing possibilities.

Also because it is a way for students to track the progress it becomes very important for them, so having the video at a good/high quality is important as they all like to compare and see their progress and is almost like a momentum of how they once danced.

at the same time since i shot every weekend, I can't keep everything in AVI as it will overwhelm my storage capabilities, so as good as dvd is probably my standard

with this requirements could you please tell me what will be best for me.

forgive my ignorance but a video done using windows move maker with the brighten filter, will it look significantly worst than one done in say Adobe premier ?

since my primarily concern is to make the best of the brighten capabilities of the software would it be a marked improvement between, windows movie maker, adobe elements, adobe premier, pinnacle ..etc ?

-- I only have a PC, so mac is not an economical option for now

thank you so much for any info

I would suggest doing a search for editing software on this forum, this is the number 1 question 1st time posters ask! Plus you'll find answers to your question faster.

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2