Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Canon Xha1 Mega Problem!

  1. #1

    Default Canon Xha1 Mega Problem!

    Hi Guys,

    I have a very, very poor experience to share with you. I just bought an XHA1.

    You might say so what?

    I say exactly, so what! So what about everything, the construction materials left me in disbelief when I opened the box.

    The microphone rubber support must have shrunk in transport as the microphone rattles if you shake the camera or indeed if you touch it.

    The cassette access door shuts as badly as the back door of a Robin Reliant.

    But wait! The best is yet to come!

    To restore my faith I decided to test the new 1.670.000 pixels quality sensor against my old XM1 320.000 pixels so I took both cameras out for a walk in REC mode.

    Came back, captured both footages on my Newtek VT4 for further analysis as I couldn't understand how you could improve so much the already excellent picture from the old one.

    To my biggest surprise I was right. They didn't manage to improve it but after several attempts of readjusting the XHA1 I still could not even match the performance of the old XM1.

    I still cannot believe how blurry the picture of the XHA1 is no matter what you do in AUTO or MANUAL setting.

    I sincerely hope that somebody out there can embarrass me in proving me completely wrong but I am beginning to lose hope.

    I have the two cameras pointing to a building and, where, with the XM1 I can see details and cracks in the wall as well as grain of a wooden door, I can go nowhere near the same definition with what is supposed to be almost 4X better.

    HD, SD16:9, SD4:3, no difference whatsoever!

    None of them looks any better than a toy camera in my opinion!


    What am I doing wrong? (apart from buying an XHA1!)

    Sorry about the dramatic message.

    Many thanks,


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005


    Maz, I don't own a HD camera but it should be better... in theory... so maybe your new camcorder has some faults from the factory...

  3. #3


    I would also like to know about this as I plan on buying a Canon XHA1 soon!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007


    Quote Originally Posted by logic28 View Post

    The microphone rubber support must have shrunk in transport as the microphone rattles if you shake the camera or indeed if you touch it.
    It's designed to be slightly flexible:

    "The built-in mic is shock mounted and is fully intended to give a little in both axis of rotation"
    I think we've all seen Bonanza.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    eastbourne eastsusex


    you dont say if you look at the edited or the raw footage, look at the raw footage on a good hd panel. it will look stunning no question, if the qulity drops on the edit then its your edit gear. dont blame the camera.
    the tape drive door is to stop dust, the mic is on a rubber mount to stop cam handling noise, i have the xlh1 the big brother of your camcorda, the picture qulity from your and mine is the same, fantastic.

Similar Threads

  1. Canon camcorder problem. Please help...
    By Jen06 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 08:41 AM
  2. Vasst Traning DVD : Inside the Canon XHA1 & XHG1
    By taiwee in forum Ebay and other classified ads: gear, cameras and video editing stuff
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-11-2007, 11:38 AM
  3. problem with Canon MVX 350i......
    By ecca in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 03:54 PM
  4. Mega prob. in APE" burning
    By Alex C in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-25-2006, 01:15 PM
  5. Canon Charger Problem
    By rankz in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2006, 11:41 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts