Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Pinnacle Studio 500 PCI Card - Audio Problem!!

  1. #1

    Default Pinnacle Studio 500 PCI Card - Audio Problem!!

    Hello all....new to this forum, hope you can help me out.

    Have installed Pinnacle Studio 500 PCI Capture Card and Studio ver10 software with no errors.

    I have both an analogue 8mm Camcorder and a digital camcorder.

    I have a Hercules Audio Sound Card DigiFire 7.1 which works fine with no problems.

    My Problem:
    When I capture "analogue" using the composit audio/video cable, their is picture but no audio.

    When I capture "digital" using the IEEE 1394 Firewire cable, their is both picture and audio.

    When I capture "digital" using the composit audio/video cable, their is once again only picture and no audio.

    I have looked at all the audio settings in studio 10 software and can see no reason for the audio not to work when capturing using composit audio/video cable. I have checked for errors under device manager and there are none.

    I can't see an incompatability problem with the soundcard/mother board as it works fine with the Firewire cable.

    I have also tested the analogue camcorder & composit cable out on my TV...picture & sound no problem at all.

    Its a mystery to me.

    You help is appreciated.

    Fox.

  2. #2

    Default

    Ok.....Problem solved..........
    The card has four sockets - 2 jack and 2 plug (2 video in & 2 video out)I plugged both jacks into the video in.........I then realised that it is a video capture card not a sound capture card. I took out 1 jack and plugged it into the sound card and hey presto!!!



    However !!
    I am finding that the sync between picture and sound is about a nano second out.......any ideas please.

    Fox

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    That's one of the drawbacks of using separate video and audio capture devices. Try changing the settings in the audio capture to a much lower rate, it might be currently set at 48Khz or 48000Hz, which is more than adequate for most users. Try reducing it 32Khz or even 22Khz, also try reducing the bit rate from 16bit to 12bit or even 8bit, the quality will certainly be affected with those settings. Alternatively connect up your analogue 8MM camcorder to your digital camcorder using the AV cables and then run a Firewire from your digital camcorder to the Firewire socket on your computer. What you have created is an analogue to digital convertor by placing your digital camcorder in the loop.

  4. #4

    Post Jessica Biel Blue Bikini

    Jessica Biel
    What an amazing body!!

Similar Threads

  1. Pinnacle Studio 9.4.3 ATI Version and audio synch problems
    By sharamun in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-21-2011, 07:09 PM
  2. Pinnacle Studio 9 Problem
    By TWiSDiT in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 08:57 PM
  3. Pinnacle DV500 capture card-strange ass problem.
    By tommyrioja in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-19-2005, 12:48 PM
  4. Pinnacle Studio AV/DV card and Premiere
    By Mihai in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-02-2005, 07:39 PM
  5. Rendering problem / Adobe Premiere/Pinnacle card
    By Katie Judd in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-21-2004, 07:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •