Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help! problems importing dvd files

Default Help! problems importing dvd files

Hi Im new to the world of video editing so excuse my lack of knowledge.

We recently purchased Sony Vegas Movie studio platinum to re edit a video.

I copyed the original cut to the harddrive and was able to use it fine. (as far as I can tell)

Did the same with the original footage, tried to use it and ran into problems.
    The footage was captured from mini dv to dvd professionally and play in windows media player ( though I had to select media player from a list of programs as the computer could not identify the file type)

When I drag a file (about 1 GB in size) onto the timeline, it only shows up as a minute or so long, seems to be heaps missing.
    Also the associated audio track seems to be from a different part of the shoot and does not match.

The pictures on the time line only match with the picture that is playing if it actually starts playing from that point. ie the timeline shows images from other scenes but the current scene has not ended.
    Also if I start playing from a different point, it may start at a different scene...which makes no sence because there was different footage showing last time the cursor was in the exact same position.

I have no idea what is going on.

Can anyone shed some light on my situation?
    Thanks

When you say dragged, do you mean the VOB from the DVD?

Turns out it was the way I was importing it. I shouldbe going file-import-capture camcorded dvd etc. It converts it mpeg2 properly.
    Though I now have more problems:

Worked fine on the first dvd of footage, can edit and so on without any problems.
    The second dvd is a different story, I go through the same process just when it starts actually copying the files, an error message comes up : An error occured during the curent operation. An exception has occured.