Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Re-Capturing with Automatic Scene Detection

  1. #1

    Default Re-Capturing with Automatic Scene Detection

    Is there a way to re-capture a pre-existing video (previously captured in Pinnacle Studio) with automatic scene detection in Premiere Pro 2 ?

    If I import my Florida Vacation in Premiere Pro 2, it appears as one huge lump instead of being divided into scenes (as in Pinnacle Studio 9) This video is aldready on my hard drive and does not require a "re-capture" from the original tape source.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    I think you are out of luck my friend. I do not know of a way of importing a single AVI file into Premier Pro so that it automatically slices it up for you as though you had done a scene capture during import.

    If you only have a few scenes then you could do some the following manually. Import the clip once for each 'scene'. Set in and out points for the 'scene' and rename the asset (inside Premiere). Repeat for each 'scene'. As far as Premier is concerned you will then have a sperate asset for each scene. Not worth doing for loads of scene changes though.

    You may find your most cost effective solution is to simply recapture from teh camera tape inside Premier Pro and click the 'scene detect' checkbox (or whatevere it is called). You'll have what you want then and it'll take atmost an hour per tape whereas the 'logical clips' approach may take you much longer.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks Alan.

    As you can imagine, re-marking In & Out points and re-labelling each scene in an entire vacation would be a very, very time consuming process.

    Hmmm...bummer.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Yourr best bet then is to recapture with scene detection on.

Similar Threads

  1. Automatic Scene Detection and Menu Creation
    By sonny in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2007, 12:15 PM
  2. Scene detection outside of the capture process?
    By mechanori in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2006, 12:08 PM
  3. scene detection on XM2
    By andypinks in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-2005, 02:43 AM
  4. Ulead Media Studio 6.5 Directors cut Auto scene detection
    By regg0 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2004, 05:55 PM
  5. Scene detection in analogue capture
    By chrislo in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-28-2003, 08:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •