Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Would like to set up a RAID ARRAY

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    11

    Default Would like to set up a RAID ARRAY

    Hey all...I purchased 2 BARRACUDA 120.0GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE SATA for my setup....I currently have an ASUS 700 Mhz mobo (old yes - for now), and I'm not sure if this one supports RAID, but I would also like to know how to set it up into a RAID Array...can anyone direct me on how to do a step-by-step? Thanks all!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If your motherboard is "that" old, chances are it doesn't support SATA drives. As for creating the array, it's really very intuative (but i would pressume is dependant on the manufacturer. All I did was follow the on-screen prompts during boot

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    If your motherboard is "that" old, chances are it doesn't support SATA drives. As for creating the array, it's really very intuative (but i would pressume is dependant on the manufacturer. All I did was follow the on-screen prompts during boot
    Thanks Marc! Well I thought it would be nice to have the RAID in my current mobo (but it doesnt support it), but in reference to my previous post regarding the NEW Asus mobo I am planning to pick up, it looks like this would be an ideal setup....Again, Ithankyou!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    2.6b at 3.3
    1 gig of OCZ Platinum Limited Edition PC3200(2-2-2)
    Abit IC7
    Seagate 80gb sata
    Aspire X-Alien
    460W Enermax
    9800 Pro
    SP-94 with Tornado

    Panasonic GS200 on its way with:
    3 DV Tapes, Tripod, Bag, Telephoto Lens, Lens Cleaning Kit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    You reckon this would be faster than the onboard RAID of his potential new mobo?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    idk...but before he would buy a new mobo, this is wut he would need
    2.6b at 3.3
    1 gig of OCZ Platinum Limited Edition PC3200(2-2-2)
    Abit IC7
    Seagate 80gb sata
    Aspire X-Alien
    460W Enermax
    9800 Pro
    SP-94 with Tornado

    Panasonic GS200 on its way with:
    3 DV Tapes, Tripod, Bag, Telephoto Lens, Lens Cleaning Kit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    You reckon this would be faster than the onboard RAID of his potential new mobo?
    no, it'd be slower because the PCI bus is slower than the SATA bus
    Pentium 4 2.4C
    1GB Kingston HyperX PC4000 Dual-Channel
    Abit IS7-G
    2x80GB Western Digital 7200RPM 8MB Cache RAID 0
    ATI All-In-Wonder 9600 Pro
    Sony DVD-ROM
    NEC CD-RW
    NEC 19\" CRT

Similar Threads

  1. Advice required on purchasing a Raid array
    By mrtee in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 07:56 PM
  2. To RAID or not RAID
    By Ernie in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-04-2006, 06:11 PM
  3. adding another harddisk to my raid array, but....
    By grewell912 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-11-2006, 08:23 PM
  4. RAID or separate drives?
    By CJ in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-17-2004, 09:20 AM
  5. RAID 0 and other things
    By atoyot in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2004, 10:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •