Thread: Beginner having trouble

Question Beginner having trouble

I'm new at this stuff and don't understand very much at all. My adventure in digital video editing started after I downloaded a bunch of videos from Google (, which can only be viewed using the Google Video Player.

When my HD started getting clogged, I wanted to store the files on DVDs. I figured, why not make them into DVDs that I can watch on a television DVD player, if I can find a program to convert from .gvi to a format that will work for my plan.

The program I've been using is called Naevius. It makes .gvi files into .avi files. It's very simple to operate. Once I have .avi files, I can add them to a "project" in Nero, design a menu, and burn to DVD for television. But I have had a bunch of problems that I don't understand, and would like some help.

The first thing I don't understand is why Nero cannot fit more than about 675 MB of .avi file onto one DVD. If the file is too big - like one that I just tried, which is a 703 MB .avi file. When I add the file to the Nero project, it says this will not fit on a regular DVD and asks if I want the project quality reduced automatically to fit in the available space. If I click No, it shows the size of the project is 4.44 GB (0.06 more than available). If I click Yes, it reduces to around 3 GB.

So I wonder, not only why it turns less than 1 GB of data into almost 4.5 GB, but also, how much of a quality reduction will there be in the resulting movie? I don't want to reduce the quality because this video is already not very good quality to start with.

Also, sometimes after the converson from .gvi to .avi, Nero refuses to accept the file into a project. The error message says something like "Unable to add video file". No explanation.