Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Stopping Time

  1. #1

    Default Stopping Time

    Is there any way to do the "stop time" effect like in the show Heroes or in the movie Big Fish with Movie Studio Platinum Edition?

  2. #2

    Default

    No, you'll need a compsiting program like after effects to do it well. you could come up with something with vegas full, Studio is to watered down in the features dept.
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  3. #3

    Default

    If you want the video to stop still for a period, there is a work around.

    With the video track on the timeline, put your cursor over the point you want to stop and click on the "Save Snapshot to File" button. With your cursor over the same point (where you saved the snapshot), split the video, to do this select the letter "S" on your keyboard. Now bring the still snapshot to the timeline and stretch to the amount of time you want, then pull the split video to the end of the still snapshot, you could have this on the same timeline or use another.

    See image....
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4

    Default

    I think he wants interaction in the time stop. To do that you need key frameing and masking. That is better off in AE
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gord View Post
    If you want the video to stop still for a period, there is a work around.

    With the video track on the timeline, put your cursor over the point you want to stop and click on the "Save Snapshot to File" button. With your cursor over the same point (where you saved the snapshot), split the video, to do this select the letter "S" on your keyboard. Now bring the still snapshot to the timeline and stretch to the amount of time you want, then pull the split video to the end of the still snapshot, you could have this on the same timeline or use another.

    See image....
    Thanks alot for that tip, was going to post a topic on how to freeze a frame, but this way work too Is there another way or? Dont know if you guys have seen Kanye West new video, Stronger, check it out and when kanye shows up they made him in scanlines and freeze him for a for a quick sec, thats kinda the effect in looking for

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    82

    Default

    http://www.videoforums.co.uk/sony-ve...op-effect.html
    This is a thread I posted a while back. People gave some good input, but I eventually used After effects, not Vegas, though you could do it with a garbage matte with Vegas if the two people or whatever didn't cross the frame.
    -Ethan


Similar Threads

  1. When was your last time... ?
    By Marc Peters in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2006, 09:22 PM
  2. Need this sound effect - a tape stopping abruptly
    By Bananadude in forum Sound Recording and Audio Editing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 10:28 PM
  3. Too much time
    By miwhel in forum User Videos
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2006, 06:04 AM
  4. ITS HDV TIME !!!
    By Dean B in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-14-2005, 07:14 PM
  5. Time
    By Jackshere in forum User Videos
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2005, 03:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •