Thread: PC spec borderline for Studio 8 ?

Default PC spec borderline for Studio 8 ?

Hi folks,

First post so please bear with me ! I have been running Studio 8 for a few years on Pentium III 933 MHz 512Mb machine with Win 98SE with occasional crashes but generally able to complete my projects to final output - complete with transitions and music tracks. Ever since upgrading to Win XP Pro about a year ago (works well), I have struggled with Studio and the same processes are taking forever to complete. Crashes now always occur during the Edit process when I create DVD thumbnail menus.

Before I roll over and turbo charge my machine with new CPU and RAM - might also need to ditch the Abit BX-133 mobo too - I wondered how close to the minimum spec my machine actually is for Studio 8 ? I know how buggy Studio has been for many and maybe the advice will be to drop it and try Vegas or Elements. The spec question will still arise so just how close to unacceptable is my Machine ? I have a dedicated hard drive for Studio files with loads of capacity which I keep defragged (run the program from OS drive, though). Would appreciate views.

Keep in mind with the new proc, new mobo, more ram, you'll neen a new power supply as well. You'll be better off getting a bare bones system and move over your perfs. It's pretty well known I hate pinnacle, so I won't get into that rant, As far as the specs, go to the web sites of the programs and they will list them.

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

Thanks for that Wil. Studio 8's quoted specs (CPU 500 MHz, 128 MB RAM etc.) are well below my system's, so I would have expected it to function adequately - slowly maybe, but adequately. Since posting I have done some rejigging with hard drives to maximise space for captured and edited video (now on 320 Gb external drive) but I still have XP on a 40 Gb drive with approx. 32 Gb free. Could there be an issue with Windows' swap file space on this drive ?