Thread: Please help! Rendering problem in Vegas 6.0

Unhappy Please help! Rendering problem in Vegas 6.0

Hi,

I have just spent the last week and a half editing our holiday video. I added some nice effects, got some track motion in there, sound track etc, and was really happy with the result.

Then...I tried to render. I am a newbie at this so please forgive me, but I believe I was rendering to an AVI file. During the render, a message flashed up stating that memory is low. The first time this message came up I had rendrred about 50% of my project. When I tried again I could only get 6%. My project seems to have eaten up all my memory! The PC isn't very old and has a 80GB hard drive with 512 RAM. What can I do to render this project as I am beginning to feel as though I may have to wipe the whole thing and start again.

Thanks,

Winnie.

Whats the processor speed? Have you looked up the system req?
    Wil

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

" My project seems to have eaten up all my memory! " - No! Your project will not have done this - rendering to a file that is BIG will have eaten up disc space. And disc space WHILE the rendering process IS going on is at a premium. I doubt it will be the processor speed.

So, I'd be looking at actual hard disc space remaining available; how much is needing Defragging and how LONG is the video you are expecting to produce? You may just be expecting TOO much from a single 80 gig HD that maybe trying to thrash about in in a small amount of space - yes? It maybe time to consider obtaining an extra internal or external drive drive to "lay-off" actual project source material and another for rendering to.

I have almost 0.75TB of HD space.

I have a system drive; internals: D: for graphics; F: for rendering to; G for Music and audio then I have an array of external drives H > L for captured source media.