Thread: HD and HDD buying advice

Default HD and HDD buying advice

Hi, I've been using camcorders for several years, and am looking to buy a new device. I currently use a Canon DC100, which has been my first experience of using DVD after previously using mini-DV format. Although the Canon is small and light, I have been disappointed with the quality of the recording once it has been transferred from camera to PC, and then burned to DVD.
    I have a HD TV, and so am planning to buy a HD camcorder. However I would liek some advice:
    1) How much hassle is it to record in HD and then burn onto Std DVD, since I donlt have a HD DVD burner or player. I realise that to get the best of the HD quality I need to play directly from the camera to my TV, and ultimately I plan to buy a HD DVD burner and player.
    2) Should I go for a HDD camcorder or go back to mini-DV? HDD seems convenient in that it is easy to just copy to my PC hard-disk. But does the quality suffer when you edit the movie, as when recording onto the cameras HDD, I undertsand the picture is compressed and so quality suffers?

Sorry for all the questions, but couldn't seem to find a forum that covered these topics. Tried search, but got nothing....

Many thanks for any help and advice you can give!

Most hard drive camcorders record in mpeg2 so you'll really end up with the samw quilty as a dvd cam, Personaly I would stick with mini dv, unless you can affoed a p2 hd cam ( last time I checked a p2 card was about $1200.00)
    Wil

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

Quote Originally Posted by Rich Tea View Post
    1) How much hassle is it to record in HD and then burn onto Std DVD, since I donlt have a HD DVD burner or player. I realise that to get the best of the HD quality I need to play directly from the camera to my TV, and ultimately I plan to buy a HD DVD burner and player.