Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: DAC100 - getting it to work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    16

    Default DAC100 - getting it to work

    Hello again,

    My DataVideo DAC100 A to D convertor arrived yesterday. I spent all evening trying to get it to work but to no avail.

    I am using a cheap VHS recorder that only has a scart socket on the back - and used a scart plug that converted to composite video leads to plug into the DAC100 unit. I suspect that this may be the problem.

    The computer (WinXP) recognises the DAC100 as a camera, but I believe that this is normal.

    As you can guess I am a total newbie, and have yet to successfully xfer video to a PC. Does anybody have any ideas?

    Thanks
    P.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Indeed it might be the lead. if you bought a scart to 3 phono lead then the lead could be the wrong one. These leads are usually uni-directional and it might be that the lead you have only works in the direction of phono INTO the scart when you actually need it to work from the scart INTO the phono plugs.

    If it only has three phono plugs and works one way it will NOT work the other way.

    If that is the case I suggest you invest in a scart-to-6 phono lead so you can use it with anything.

    Lucky these things are cheap. I bought one that has proved quite adequate for everything I've wanted to do for only about 3

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    189

    Default

    yes. I had the same sort of problem. you can get a scart to 3 pin composite adaptor with a switch. the switch has in and out options so I can output to my camera as well as recording to VHS
    Aim for the Moon - If you miss, you may hit a Star


    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    48x CD burner
    16x Dual Layer DVD burner
    512 Mb RAM
    Windows XP Pro/Debian unstable
    Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5
    Firewire card
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    2 x 17" CRTs, 1 x 17" TFT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Some success. It was the scart lead. I now have a scart plug the has a direction switch on it. et to out the video is transferring - but alas no audio. The quality of the resulting video is very good (in my view as a novice)

    If you\'re not part of the solution, you\'re part of the precipitate

    Intel P4 2.8GHz with HT
    1 Gb 400MHz DDR-SDRAM
    DVD ROM x16 - DVD rewriter
    120GB Ultra DMA hard drive (Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm/2MB)
    ATI Radeon 9200 128Mb
    Internal Firewire
    Windows XP Home
    17\" CRT screen
    DataVideo DAC100 A to D convertor

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Remember that s-video is video only, u'll have to input the sound in addition. If this makes no sense, its cos i am inebriated (never did know how to spell that word, esp when i am that word :0))

    Anyway, 3-0, la la la laaaaaaaa la. And a draw for croatia. Now all we need is a draw. Come 0n England!!!!!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    Shame on you young Marc. Its spelled P.1.S.S.E.D.

    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

    Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Still cannot capture sound. Searching the web (Google Groups) it seems that I am not the only one with this problem, but cannot see that anyone have come up with a solution.

    Video is coming across great now... but silent.

    The set up is:

    VHS (scart) to DAC100 A to D converter via composite video leads
    DAC100 to PC via Firewire
    There is also composite video out of DAC100 to a monitor (TV), which is receiving sound - which reassures me that audio is getting to the DAC100 at least.

    If you\'re not part of the solution, you\'re part of the precipitate

    Intel P4 2.8GHz with HT
    1 Gb 400MHz DDR-SDRAM
    DVD ROM x16 - DVD rewriter
    120GB Ultra DMA hard drive (Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm/2MB)
    ATI Radeon 9200 128Mb
    Internal Firewire
    Windows XP Home
    17\" CRT screen
    DataVideo DAC100 A to D convertor

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Are you sure you have an audio carrier? The scart lead should split into three leads... on for video and two for sound (left and right).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I am sure.

    I have a composite video out to a 10" TV which gives audio and video

    So the problem MUST lie between the DAC100 and the PC,

    I have tried using Win Movie Maker 2, WinDV and DVIO - all are missing audio.

    I do appreciate the assistance you are all giving - thank you.

    If you\'re not part of the solution, you\'re part of the precipitate

    Intel P4 2.8GHz with HT
    1 Gb 400MHz DDR-SDRAM
    DVD ROM x16 - DVD rewriter
    120GB Ultra DMA hard drive (Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm/2MB)
    ATI Radeon 9200 128Mb
    Internal Firewire
    Windows XP Home
    17\" CRT screen
    DataVideo DAC100 A to D convertor

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Sorry to harp on about the cable, but what does it look like? Is it just one lead?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Where to look for work???
    By bit.heed in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 07:51 PM
  2. FX Work
    By Bayne in forum User Videos
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 07:51 AM
  3. would this work well
    By n_kop71 in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-20-2006, 01:36 PM
  4. Will Firewire work ?
    By hockey-keeper in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2005, 01:36 PM
  5. Will this work?
    By Damu_G in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-26-2005, 05:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •