Thread: Please critique 3 new videos

Default Please critique 3 new videos

I'm a new video producer for pianist Justin Sanner and would appreciate a critique of the production aspects of the following videos:

I shot these videos with a Panasonic AG-DVC30P Digital Video Camera-Recorder.

I'm using Premiere Elements 3 for editing, then I upload to YouTube with video format options of MPEG1 and 2. The format I chose was MPEG1, because MPEG2 made the videos exceed YouTube's 100MB limit per video.

Any ideas on how to get the picture clearer on the videos? They look a little fuzzy to me.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Dean Johnson (Production)
    Justin Sanner (Pianist)

I only seen the first one so I will comment on it. I grew bored pretty quick, The pianist was great he deffently has talent, The problem is the filming. You only have one angle you need more. I would use at four diffrent positions, close up on face from the side, close up on the hands and keys, wide shot and a shot from the front of the piano directly facing him, Then cut it to the beat, so you'll end up filming the whole thing 4 times. Tell him if he makes a mistake to keep going you can fix it in editing. You'll only use the sound from one take anyway. If he has a CD that he had made use that instead of the on camara audio.

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

Telford, West Midlands

A camera angle which matches the viewpoint of a standing adult has to be the most boring angle to use because that is ordinarily where most of us view the world from. Looking at subjects from a height of about 5'8" is the common viewpoint; a viewpoint that holds no surprises and therefore no excitment. Locking off your tripod for a subject who is himself static is not a sin, but the problem of doing so is that we very quickly tire of a subject which has only one fixed viewpoint. One frame of reference.