Thread: Can you transfer from DV tape direct to DVD?

Default Can you transfer from DV tape direct to DVD?

Hi, please excuse my ramblings but I am new to this Digital Video stuff. I have been doing the digital photography for a few years and creating VCDs to play on my DVD from the photos and videos from the digi cam.

but I am about to be a Dad and my wife wants to get into Digital videoing aswell as the pictures. So........

I have purchased a second hand video (50 from ebay - it has firewire but that will be a future upgrade) and a DVD drive (50) for my PC (just waiting for both to arrive). I have a TV card in the PC that has a s-video in, the camera I bought has the s-video out. The computer has a 4gb and a 6gb hard disk. The 6 GB is used for my photography stuff so is completely empty.

My question is can I transfer directly from the tape through the PC and store the video in full on a DVD, then using the DVD library that I will end up with I can edit to get the final video clips I want to keep.

or////

do I need to invest in a larger harddisk drive (every counts as the baby is due in 2.5 months) or will the tape to DVD work.

I will obviously have plenty time on my hands when baby arrives (3am, 4am, 5am etc.......)

Thanks in advance.

In truth, I'm not convinced you are going to win with this.

To capture straight onto a DVD to play in a set-top box, which I guess is your intention, you would at the very least need to encode in real time to MPEG2. Cards to do this are not cheap.

But the main thing that worries me is your PC spec. If it has a HDD of (only) 6Gb then this implies to me that the PC is about 5 years old whcih wouold put at about the Pentium 500Mhz era. This is not likely up to the task to be honest.

I susopect most video editing packages would require a heftier PC than this. Especially in the HHD department.