Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HI, about .MOV files on Vegas.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seoul
    Posts
    3

    Default HI, about .MOV files on Vegas.

    Hi guys, I'm new to Vegas, and I have a couple of questions.
    (Used to breathe Premiere Pro 1.5, but I just wanted to give Vegas a try, so I installed it on my laptop)

    I am using a Nikon Coolpix S9. and it saves videos in MOV format.

    I'm sure Vegas can edit mov files cuz they say so here :
    Sony Creative Software - Vegas+DVD Production Suite - Capture, Import and Export

    but whenever I import an mov file, the whole program crashes.

    This is very frustrating, and I have yet to try it out at home with premiere, but since Vegas is a lighter program I want to be able to edit videos while I'm out of the apartment.

    Could someone please give me some advice on this problem?

    a. How come when I import .mov files Vegas crashes?
    b. Do I need something special installed on my computer to use .mov files? (like a plugin? codec?)


    my first post, hehe, nice to meet you guys.

    thanks in advance
    PK

  2. #2

    Default

    Welcome, We need more info to help, What version of Vegas 4,5,6,7?? Is it the full version or studio? Dose it have the newest update??
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seoul
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thanks for replying, but I just gave up on Vegas.. going back to premiere now..
    It seems to be the MJPEG codec didn't work too well with Vegas 7 and Vista.
    I'm back on premiere and XP and it's all good.

    thanks for your interest/help though.

    take care
    PK

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Vegas is not a listed os on the sony site for vegas - hence your problems i suspect.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Vegas is not a listed os on the sony site for vegas - hence your problems i suspect.

    I take it you mean vista?? :P
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seoul
    Posts
    3

    Default

    ahh.. that makes a lot of sense.. so maybe cuz my laptop was vista Vegas acted up so much..

    I couldn't get anything to work on vista..

    so I'm giving up on trying Vegas on my laptop (which is Vista) cuz it's a lighter program.. I'll just stick with XP and premiere for now..

    thanks for your replies everyone.

    take care
    PK

Similar Threads

  1. avi. files for Sony Vegas
    By diana1234 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 08-13-2010, 02:47 AM
  2. VOB Files and IFO Files in Vegas Movie Studio 4.0
    By tamupete99 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 06:09 AM
  3. DVD Architect - include VEGAS files
    By RiW in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-24-2007, 02:13 AM
  4. JVC HDD files.. without sound in vegas..
    By Brillman in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2006, 04:04 PM
  5. Vegas 6.0c and DivX files
    By snapware in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-23-2006, 06:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •