Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Dropped Frame Problem

  1. #1

    Question Dropped Frame Problem

    I'm trying to capture video from my camcorder through my firewire port. In every program I've used I've experienced problems with it dropping frames. I've used windows movie maker, pinnacle studio plus, and windv. I've defragged my drives, disabled antivirus software, and shut down any unnecessary apps and processes yet I still have the problem. Any help would be appriciated.

    Specs:
    Windows XP Pro SP2
    Pentium 4 H/T @ 3.2 gHz
    2048 MB of ram
    nVidia GeForce 6800 GT
    Using a Cannon Zr500 Camcorder

  2. #2

    Default

    What hardware are you using to capture the video?

    Have you stored the camera/media near any magnets?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Do you see dropped frames when you view the tape directly on a tv?

    Check your cpu usage on capture, if it is near 100% reduce the size of the caprute window

  4. #4

    Default

    I'm using a 3 port FireWire PCI card and no I do not see dropped frames on a tv, also, while I capture the video I disable the preview window to save resources.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dublin,Ireland
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Dropped frames usually happen because your system can't stream from the camcorder to the hardrive quickly enough, and anything used along the way can impact this, usually however it is the harddrive. What type is it and what speed?

  6. #6

    Default

    Amost sure that they're Western Digital. Both @ 7200 RPM. One is 80 and the other is 120 GB. I've tried saving to both and still getting the same problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    How full are the drives? Do they need defragging?

  8. #8

    Default

    the 80GB has 36% free and the 120GB has 18% free. I defragged both.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkcarnie View Post
    the 80GB has 36% free and the 120GB has 18% free. I defragged both.
    Respectfully, this amount to next-to-nothing in video terms, giving you enough space for only a couple of hours of footage to edit. Also the disks are pretty full and so disk performance will be impaired. Can you clean up the drives at all?

    I would recommend you keep the 80Gb drive and keep it as an OS+s/w drive only. Invest maybe 100 and get yourself a disk drive worth having for video. Something over 300Gb and then see how you go on.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Seconded from me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. after effetcs 6.5 freeze frame problem?
    By serwet in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 03:34 PM
  2. For a newb: frame drop problem
    By Dark Hunter in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-22-2006, 11:26 PM
  3. frame size capture problem
    By sam in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2006, 01:18 PM
  4. Problem.. need help.. Dropped frame w/ Sony TRV and Premiere
    By nik3 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2006, 11:00 PM
  5. dropped frames and another problem HELP
    By dbartley in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-08-2005, 04:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •