Thread: slow after effects

Default slow after effects

I recently got after effects, so I am far from an expert. It is acting really sluggish. When I try scrubbing the playhead, it has a frame rate of probably about 5 fps. When I try playing the movie, it plays about half of what it was set to, and when I do a RAM preview, the little green bar, never goes all the way across. It will take away from other parts it is rendering, or it will just play the first 5 seconds. It may just be my computer, but there has to be a way to be faster than that. Vegas plays just fine.

Oh yeah, I almost forgot, it is also taking 115MB of my memory and the CPU usage goes way up.
    -Ethan

After Effects uses RAM to preview your video so the more you have the better for doing your previews.

There are a lot of little tricks you can do to get more from what you have.

First you want to to "edit" "preferences" "memory and cache" youwill see an option to set the maximum memory usage I keep mine set to 120% I seem to remember reading somewhere that you don't want to have it above 130%. If I remember where I'll double check this for you.

There'sa also the Maximum RAM Cache Size, I've not read anything about this anywhere so I keep it set at the 60% default, maybe if you try raising this you'll get longer previews. You can always put it back to default if it doesn't work.

If you go to your time controls window you can do some good stuff in there too, change the bit that says "RAM preview options" to "Shift RAM preview options" If you change the "skip" option to a higher number you'll only play back every second/third/fourth etc. frame, it will give you a good idea of what your finished artical will be and you will see twice(or more) as much (in length) as before. If you change the resolution, you can see even more as it lowers the quality of your video of your video, sometimes this isn't desirable but for checking motion it's fine....