Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Spec

Default Newbie Spec

Hye guys,

Im planning to build a new system for video editing.Its must cos be around USD1000 maybe?(im in malaysia actually).Im a newbie and interested to do some editing work as a hobby.So this is my spec :

AMD Barton 2500+
    Abit NF7-S
    Corsair Twinx 2CPT 1024 PC3200
    120GB WD 7200rpm SATA
    80GB WD 7200rpm SATA
    Power Color Radeon 9800XT 128MB
    Benq DVD-RW
    I-Cute ATX Casing with 4 fans.

Is it good enaough? I want to change the GC to more cheapest one? Can u suggest me another GC is suitable?, the price must be lower than Radeon 9600XT .Im also still looking for the video capture card.Maybe the cheaper one.

Don't forget to budget for your software as well. What do you intend to use?

As for capture card. What do you intend to capture from? If it's from a MiniDV camcorder then all you'll need is a firewire port on the PC somewhere. You should only need further h/w if you are capturing analogue.

A2D convertors for capturing from your VCR or similar will likely range from about £50 (UKPounds) upwards. I've found Dazzle to be cheap and cheerful in this regard. I have one myself and not had any issues with it.

okokokokok:

1. get an intel Pentium 4 with hyper threading. the video encoding is much faster and hyperthreading can improve render times. AMD sucks when it comes to DV unless you're talking about 64-bit here

2. Are you getting a 9800XT or a 9600XT? Don't get an expensive graphics card unless you're going to do gaming. if you're doing some gaming, then get a Radeon X800 or X800 Pro. These will be much better than the 9800XT

3. Get RAID. Get two hard drives that are the same size so you can use the Serial ATA RAID that's integrated in to your motherboard (nice choice, is this for overclocking?) This will not be any more expensive but will improve general system speed dramatically.

and for software, sometimes that doesn't need a budget
    Pentium 4 2.4C