Thread: test footage - period piece

1. Default test footage - period piece

Im new at this game so its important to get feedback, so here goes.

Im in the middle of doing a number of different film styles for an actor I know.
    The first film was a period piece in the style of 'The importance of being Ernest' and the Jane Austen Films, such as Pride and Prejudice.

This is the first edit of the short scene and I hope people can take a look and let me know what they think.
    Im looking to find out if the following are up to scratch:

Camera work

It is only 2mins and 50secs including name tags and the scene can be found here. MySpace Videos: Reginald by Richard

You can also reach my myspace page by clicking here

Thanks in advance for the input.

Blog Entries

Very impressive!

The look was technically very good, the lighting ratios just right. Either you were very lucky with the weather or you used reflectors very well. It looked very "natural" without ugly shadows or dark eye sockets.

The sound was superb. That, for me, made the whole thing stand out. How was the sound recorded?

Editing: It flowed very well. The pace was just right and the mixture of long, mid and close shots worked well. There was one slight jar from a 2shot to a close up of the man but that was the only time an edit was noticeable. Well done!

I'm not sure about the acting. In my opinion it was a bit forced, especially from the leading lady. I didn't feel that these were people who always talked in this way but rather people "acting" as Edwardian socialites. Just a small point.

The script pushed the point a bit. His biting comments were good and there was a fair bit of "Oscar Wilde wit" in there but... dunno. It fell a bit flat and I don't know if that was the script or the acting.

All in all though, technically it was top rate.

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

Did cottages have replacement double glazing back then?

Couldn't resist. Good work though.

4. Default