Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which MINI-DV camcorder should i get?

Default Which MINI-DV camcorder should i get?

Hi im new here and i am a complete beginner to camcorders.

I did some research and googling and ive found out that Mini-DV offers the best video quality and is best value.

I'm looking to edit the video i shoot on my PC which i built:

AMD Athlon 3700+ 2.2GHz
    1 GB Ram
    250 GB SATA HD.

Id like to purchase a camera around the 300 mark. Give or take 100.

Should i aim for 3CCD?

My PC has firewire so would it be best to get a firewire compatible camcorder instead of the USB 2.0 interface the Panasonics have.

Also does the Sony DCR-HC27E output DV AVI?

Which is the best format to edit with and which camcorders offer it. Thanks!

If you can please recommend a camcorder. Im not fussed about stills or any other bell and whistles. Thanks.

If it's a mini-DV camcorder you have in mind then they will all have a firewire port and that is the only way you should capture EVER!!!!

When you buy one, if it has a CD with it then don't let it ever touch your CD drive ok?

The format will be up tot he capture s/w so what editor will you be using. Typically, unless you go out of your way, you will capture to DV-AVI and these are the best thing to edit.

As to specific camera. Pretty much, once you have decided to go mini-DV then it's all personal preference. Do you need widescreen? Do you need manual controls of focus and exposure etc etc.

If it's going on a tripod then consider getting one that doesn't bottom-load.

Forget digital zoom.
    optical zoom is the ONLY thing that matters. Forget special features like sepia and fades in and out and titles. These things are all so much better done in an editor on a PC (or Mac) than on camera etc etc.

Thanks very much!

I think im going to get a Panasonic NV-GS230 3CCD one. Good Choice?

Does it load from the Top or Bottom?

If I were buying a new camera these would be the must-haves and the desirables.