Thread: Advice needed on best software

Question Advice needed on best software

Greetings

So I'm new to DVD authoring, have been all over the internet, read through so many forums and guides and am still at a loss as to what I should buy.

Can anyone tell me what is the best software for a beginner who wants to create TV quality DVDs from Avi files and add menus (don't mind if these are templates)

Basically, I have some films and episodes of TV shows on my PC and want to burn them to DVD.

Apparently Sonic's mydvd studio 6 is good and also Pinnacle Studio and Nero 6, but some reviewers say they slow CPU speed and have a variety of bugs.

All useful advice appreciated!

Clair
    X

I started with ULEAD DVD Factory. It steps you intuitively through the process of video capture, scene trimming, menu creation and DVD burning while still allowing some customisation along the way. I graduated to Adobe Encore which is one of the best, but is totally non-intuitive (to the beginner) and expects you to know what to do and what order to do it in.

I would personally recommend Adobe Encore. But then I would as it's the one I have and the only one I know

Actually I though I;d already posted a reply to this question. Is it a double post? Anyway, if it;s some TV recordiong and it;s a one-off effort then downlaod and install the 30 day trial of something (Encore?) and then bash them all out.

I'm not sure what you mean by TV quality DVDs. All DVD authroing packages will be at standard PAL/NTSC resolutions so you'll always get the right level of quality in that sense. Encoding quality may vary slightly. The biggest issue you havew, quality wise, is the quality of your source material. If it's not up to scratch then neither will your final DVD be.

But basicvally, there's plenty of DVD authoring packages around. Play with a few trial versiosn and see which suits you personally.

The free software on any mac (idvd) is actually pretty good at encoding, and is pretty fool proof.