Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Premier Problem: Sizing imported vid + pics properly

  1. #1

    Default Premier Problem: Sizing imported vid + pics properly

    Hi everyone! Im Spin, I've recently started work on a martial arts instructional video in Premier Pro but I'm having some difficulties..
    I've been trying to import pics and video footage to my project, no problem there. Then I stick some stuff together and export the lot to a video file. no problem there either.. BUT when I run the file, the sizes of each of the different imported components are f**ked up
    Basically, the first picture doesnt fit in the frame completly, then the video clip that follows it is really small.. Anyone know whats wrong? or better yet how I can fix it??

    Sorry if that isnt too clear, I'm very new to video editing..

    Thanks..
    Spin
    http://www.spinstorm.cjb.net - Freestyle Nunchaku

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    189

    Default

    have you checked that the import/export clip aspect ratios are the same?
    Aim for the Moon - If you miss, you may hit a Star


    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    48x CD burner
    16x Dual Layer DVD burner
    512 Mb RAM
    Windows XP Pro/Debian unstable
    Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5
    Firewire card
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    2 x 17" CRTs, 1 x 17" TFT

  3. #3

    Default

    Sorry man, that went straight over my head, I get the idea but where do I check that stuff on the program??
    (I've had a good look and I cant find anything like that )
    http://www.spinstorm.cjb.net - Freestyle Nunchaku

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    29

    Default

    re:pictures.
    You wanna import them into photoshop or photoeditor or something and crop them all so that their ratio is 720x576 pixels. That's presuming you're using PAL if you are American you need the NTSC ratio, which I think is something like 640x480 (anyone??). That should fix atleast part of your problem, I reckon.
    The saying \"always back up your work\" applies to video aswell!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    189

    Default

    Project> settings viewer. if some are red then click on the label above them to change them so they are the same as the rest.


    ntsc is 720x480
    Aim for the Moon - If you miss, you may hit a Star


    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    48x CD burner
    16x Dual Layer DVD burner
    512 Mb RAM
    Windows XP Pro/Debian unstable
    Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5
    Firewire card
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    2 x 17" CRTs, 1 x 17" TFT

  6. #6

    Default

    Im not american, UK here.. Thanks a lot guys , I'll have a play with what you mentioned..
    http://www.spinstorm.cjb.net - Freestyle Nunchaku

  7. #7

    Default

    Now I feel silly, I found what I need remarkably easily today..

    I needed to tick the box that says "scale clips to project dimensions when adding to sequence"
    http://www.spinstorm.cjb.net - Freestyle Nunchaku

  8. #8

    Default

    OK, I fixed the old problem, now all the clips that I import are the same size when I export the full movie.. BUT Ive struck another problem:
    The finished video is far smaller in dimensions than it should be, asin I want it to be about 800*600, but it ends up really damn small
    Anyone have an idea what I'm doing wrong??

    Thanks
    Spin
    http://www.spinstorm.cjb.net - Freestyle Nunchaku

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If you're using Adobe Media Encoder:

    1) MPEG1 or 2 (not DVD compliant): Select the format type as either MPEG1 or MPEG2. Click on video under summary and then change the width and height.

    2) WMV: select the formant type at Windows Media. Expand the Audiences section under summary, click on the audiannce displayed and then change the width and height.

    For AVI files, select File > Export > Movie. Click settings, then video and then change the width and height.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    I'd just like to add that you should only change the width and height only if you're intending to publish your video ont he web or something.

    If you intend to publish as anb actual video tape or DVD then do NOT resize the video. It;s already in the correct resolution.

    Oh and Spin, it's nice to finally have someone at the forums named after a washing machine cycle!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Batch sizing photo's in vegas!!!
    By Skodster in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-19-2006, 09:17 AM
  2. Files Imported as Widescreen but
    By schwahelee in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 12:01 AM
  3. How to do slo-mo properly and how to render properly? Help!
    By mtx in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-01-2005, 11:59 PM
  4. problem capturing and a problem with mpg in premier
    By franny in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 05:36 PM
  5. .MPG file not being read properly! Too short!
    By MasterWerk in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-16-2004, 08:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •