Thread: Vegas 7 Media Library - File name changes

Default Vegas 7 Media Library - File name changes

I had about 100 video clips in my video directory, all with Vegas' default name: clip xxx.m2t.

Yesterday, I changed all the names to better describe each clip, and I can view the new names using Vegas 7 explorer and Internet Explorer.

But now my media library is full of "offline" files. I've been trying to delete each one, but that requires 2 separate delete actions for each file.

Is there a better way to delete the old file names that don't exist anymore, and to refresh the media library to pick up the newly named files? (which, btw have also been moved to a new directory on an external HD because they were begining to eat up too much space on the internal drive)

Default 2nd request

I recieved no replies to my query to date, so I'm asking again.

I'm still learning the intricacies of Media manager File Management. renaming and updating is something I've approach with much trepidation.

Sorry . .

Thanks for your reply Grazie.

Looks like I should have approached it with more trepidation also

Well, this MAY not be your experience, but what I did was to search for files that I KNEW weren't connected to my PC - they reside on an external Firewire drive and I had NOT connected that drive - yet. And, yes they appeared with a red line through them. That is what should happen.

So I then connected the drive and they still remained "Offline". OK, I'd expect that. I then used the Media Manager Options - this is located within the Drop Down menu on the MAIN MM Search Results Toolbar. In this Drop Down I clicked on the "Media Library" tab and without checking the "Ignore files dates . . " I hit the UPDATE button. Be warned this takes time!! Mine took a good 10 minutes - first time around, but then it was quicker.

After it had finished all the previously red line files were "seen" as being online.